Military vs College, a LDR ???

I have not always been a devoted college student, but I am now. When I met him I was really disheartened about my plans for the future, and he encouraged me to continue in college and he believed in me. He is in the Infantry Marines. Ten months after we met and began dating he was restationed to the other corner of the country. I went across the country road-tripping with him. I stayed with him and his family for a month in the DC area. Then I flew back home to continue school, as a sophomore undergraduate. After that quarter I spent two weeks with him and his family over christmas break. A month into the next quarter his little sister past away, which was very heart breaking. Even though I was taking 16 credits consisting of chemistry, calculus, and German, I really love him and care about his family, so I immediately flew to DC for 5 days, and still got decent grades (I am an honor roll student). Then he got sent to a 2-month field opp, and now he is in an advancement course.

I really appreciate him pushing me because I realized I am actually a really good student, and passionate too. At first, when we were separated, he kept complaining that I didn't love him enough and that he wanted me to be close to him. I made it clear to him that under no circumstances am I able to move across the country without being married, and it was up to him to decided whether us being together is important enough to him that he'd understand that. That conversation was about 7 months ago, and since then he decided in fact that he does want to get married. Though he never actually proposed or got me a ring, though he thought about it a lot.