any thoughts on my situation?

hi everyone,

i was reading a few threads on this forum and i was impressed by all the great advice that was given to everyone in a long distance relationship here. so, i thought i would share my own LDR story here and hopefully some of you could provide your thoughts / advice / anything at all. here it goes...

i've been in a relationship for a little over 2 years now with an amazing girl i met in new york city during graduate school (i should also add that we are both 25 years old). at the time, she was (and actually still is) a phd student while i was a masters student. i finished my masters and applied to graduate school and my best offers were all on the west coast, so last summer i moved to san francisco to start school. at the time, i was very overwhelmed with my grad school decision and as much as i hate to admit, i was paying more attention to my future career than my SO.

when i first started school, i visited my family on the east coast a couple of times as i was homesick, and i also visited my SO during these trips. we weren't officially dating since she felt burned by my choice to move to california, but we were talking everyday by text / phone / skype. we also tried to see other people during this time. but after heading back to california, i had a crisis of faith and called my SO to see if there was any chance at making an LDR work since we were in an amazing relationship during my time in new york city and i wasn't yet ready to give her up. after a few talks, we decided to give it a try and we have been seeing each other about once a month for the past 5 months. i've also looked into the option of transferring to a graduate school on the east coast closer to my SO.