To pursue or not to pursue?

I play online poker a good bit, not addicted, but I'm a pretty good player. Anywho, one of my poker buddies and I started playing one-on-one about a month or so ago. He's in Cali and I'm in SC, I'm 28 and he's 23.... Well we chat between hands, like the app notifies us when someone has made a move in the game or left a message on chat. He and I have been messaging back and forth the whole time. He's very intriguing, very down to earth and seemingly interesting. I like that he's intelligent to be so much my junior, and the conversations aren't anything sexual, which I like because that's a problem I run into with people online. He's supposed to be going into the Navy soon, I think around July unless they can get him in there earlier, and he's said that he would like to stay in touch throughout his training and whatnot. That he'll be in Pensacola, FL after basics in Illinois. Well he's supposed to be in FL at least 2 years for the schooling and since he'd be on the east coast, we talked about maybe linking up sometime and actually getting to meet, to hang out. My thing is this: how in the heck are we going to be able to stay in touch all that time? Like we chat when we play poker, but we're not FB friends nor have we exchanged emails or phonenumbers. He's never asked me anything personal, never asked for my number, so I'm wondering if he really does want to keep in touch or if his chatting with me is just something to do to pass the time until he leaves. He's said that he finds me interesting, that he thinks I'm pretty hot. And we have great conversations, but I feel that if he wants to stay in touch, then maybe we should actually try chatting outside of the poker sessions. Like how can we get to know each other if we only chat here and there? I don't want to seem too forward and flat out give him my number, but he hasn't made the effort to give me his either. So overall, I'm wondering if I should pursue the friendship and see where it goe