Online dating drama-NEED HELP Please. Long Post.

Hi,

Well this is my problem: I met this guy online about a year and a half ago in some online forums. He spent 3 months trying to get my attention because he liked me and was interested in me. I pretty much ignored him, because Im a complete idiot, and was confusing him with someone else haha So anyways, we began talking online, and he was ready to meet me after talking for a couple months but I told him to hold things off until I graduated school. I didnt want to be conecentrating on or rushing in on a new relationship and forgetting about my studies during my last semester.

I finally graduated, last December and around February(this year) we picked a date to meet eachother for the first time. By this time we were pretty much best friends online, and things seemed to be heating up...we both had crushes. We only live about 3 hours away so we planned a weekend to meet. It seems that around this time everything just went wrong. My grandmother died the weekend before we were supposed to meet. Then 2 days before we were going to have our date, he tells me he couldnt meet me because of work, so we set up a date for the next weekend. That date fell through also. He had to go on a last minute business trip, and asked me to go along but I didnt feel comfy doing that so I turned him down and gave him an excuse that my parents wouldnt agree with this..and because it was last minute it would be hard to explain what was going on.(yes I still live w/ my parents because of being unemployeed and financial issues). He agreed with me and things were fine. Well we didnt set up a date again but continued to talk online every night. When I would bring up picking a date he would tell me "soon" or "it will happen when it happens", and that he thinks that I need to become financially independant before we start dating. Which I agreed with. We continued to talk on the phone every once in awhile, and spent a lot of time online everyday.