How can I be happy in my long distance relationship!

Lovefromfaraway

Hello!

I have been in a long distance relationship for 5 months now. I go to school in Kentucky and he goes in Michigan. It is very enjoyable and I love my partner very much. We have a great foundation as we were friends for about 4 or 5 years prior to our relationship. For being long distance, our relationship has been quite excellent. I would not trade being with him for anything at all. We have discussed marriage and intend on getting married after he graduates in 5 years. Being long distance for that time will be difficult but worth it.

However, I am currently studying in Germany until the end of August. I am trying very hard to be happy, but I am constantly feeling immense pain when I am alone and am constantly checking Facebook for possible updates from my love. I always miss my boy friend, but never as much as I am in this foreign country. I miss him terribly!

I need help trying to lessen the pain while I am away for these 3 months. I have a few friends at my school but we are all intensive language students that must study a great deal. Also, besides that, I am not very good at making friends so I do have a bit of trouble connecting with these people from all around the world (most of which speak German as a second language so communication is already a bit difficult!)

I want to learn how to be happy spending time alone, but I have honestly never been alone before in my life. I don't want to "waste my time" sitting around in a foreign country doing nothing at all because I am very sad. The week days are filled with school but the weekends are very free and I have much time to be alone. What suggestions do you have so I can make this an enjoyable experience that is not constantly bombarded with feelings of sadness I have from missing my other (probably better!) half!

Any suggestions to help me get happy are welcome!

Thanks in advance!

heartshaped