Long Distance, hmmmm

The Preakness

Hello,

I'm just looking for ideas.

First, here's the current situation:

I am a recent graduate from a major university and now work for the university full time. I started seeing someone a month before the summer break hit. She has another year of school left. We are about 3 hours apart for 3 months. All things considered, this isn't too bad. She will actually live a block away from me next year merely by coincidence.

We try to talk every few days, but aren't forcing calls or anything. Until mid-july we're actually going to see each other every other week (which is much more than I expected).

However, here's where I wanted to see if anyone has suggestions. We are both active people. Our dates are mostly things like hiking, picnics, parties, etc. I'm trying to get people's suggestions on keeping things fresh since we did activities more than we chatted. Does anyone have any creative and unique ways of keeping it fresh? Like a mad-libs email or something? What has worked for you?

Also, any general tips would be nice... but I can probably find those by checking the site ;-)

I don't want to mess this up from having LDR inexperience, because I know what I look for in someone and this person fits the persona exactly. Thanks for your help.

if you are serious about keeping your relationship with this girl, don't drop the ball when it comes to communicating with her! Because no matter how much you like her, if you don't stay in touch on a regular basis, she's going to wonder if she's wasting her time on an LDR with you.

that said, there are many ways to be thoughtful -- funny emails (mad-libs?), cards, letters, phone calls, sending her a flower arrangement, etc. Really doesn't matter what vehicle you use to stay in communication, just as long as you stay in touch.