My Boyfriend is in Afghanistan for 6 months!

Hey Guys,

I need a little help...I've never used a forum like this before but I'm really hoping to get some help perhaps from someone who maybe knows what it's like to have a bf deployed with the military for a long period of time. I have friends who are going through the same thing as me but not only have none of them ever had their bf's on a tour before, but they also have been with their bf's/fiance's for quite some time...here's where I turn to you:

His name is Doug and I met him through a friend about 7 months ago...we hung out one time and nothing really came of it until about 3 weeks before he was sent to Afghanistan (Feb.10th) for a 6 month tour(he is in the Canadian Military). My group of friends and his started hanging out and we were all pretty much inseperable. With Doug being around a lot more we started to get to know eachother pretty well and come to find that we clicked. He spent every spare second he had of his last 2 weeks here with me. The thing was that we both knew he was leaving and didn't want to start a relationship just days before he left...which is understandable, except there's the fact that we both totally fell hard for eachother. You all know what it's like when you first meet someone and your SO excited about everything. All you want to do is be around this person that makes you so happy. That's where we are... the 'can't get enough of eachother stage' and he's hundreds of thousands of miles away. He is a amazing guy! So thoughtful and makes me laugh constantly...cute :p .