Is platonic friend showing signs of jealousy?

I have an issue with a coworker that has me stumped. We are very close friends and have been for several years. We both work in retail, which is where we met. Although we are close, I would describe our relationship as platonic although I am the first to admit I have had feelings for her for a while now, but have never acted on it.

I work as a cashier while she is a sales clerk. The other day the store hired a new woman and as is policy started her out as a cashier. It was my responsibility to train her. She is likely around 21 or so as she is a college student. She is majoring in history, which is what my degree is in. During our time working together, I found out we are both strongly interested in the Civil War. I should point out I am a good bit older than her.

My coworker came to the cashier station and after she introduced herself to the new girl, I told her "she likes the Civil War" and "she doesn't get bored when I talk to her." I noticed a strange look on my friend's face as she walked away and she only muttered "maybe she was just being nice." I should also point out my friend and I don't talk about history together as she doesn't find it that interesting.

We work in a two-story store and my friend got on the escalator. Normally, when she gets on she just faces forward and goes upstairs. This time, she made a point of standing sideways and looking directly at us until she noticed I was looking at her.