My boyfriend insists I cheated on him, but I never had any physical contact.

Hi everyone! Well, this is my first time here. I'm seeking advise on how to work things out with my boyfriend of 4 years.

For over a year and 1/2 now our realtionship has not been quite as good as what it used to be when we first started dating. I began feeling neglected and not loved. I would talk to him about how I was feeling and he would say that he was sorry and he would try to make me happy. Yeah, he would, but only for a few weeks, maybe days. Then things were back to the way they were. I always put him first and I was always last for him. I eventually got fed up of being fed up, so I asked him for time alone. He said we either stay together and work things out or break up. So we continued our relationship.

2 months ago I went out of town to visit family. At a family get together I saw an old friend that I haven't seen in years. He looked very attractive. My family and I made plans to go out the following day, the friend went along too. We took pictures together that night. A lot of pictures, hugging and dancing. Yeah flirting was involved, but that was it. When I came back home, my boyfriend saw the pictures and imagined the worse. So I pleaded and I swore that nothing happened.

We kept in touch after that, phone calls, e-mail, instant messages. And a week ago my boyfriend found out I was still e-mailing him and he was devastated.