Uncomfortable around his ex

[font=arial][/font][color=darkblue][/color]Hi there! I'm new to LoveShack and I need some advice about my current relationship. I have been with my boyfriend going on two years now, and he has treated me wonderfully...The only riff we've ever had in our relationship is that it's uncomfortable for me to be around his ex-girlfriend. They are really good friends still and she is engaged to be married. I have total trust in my man, and I know that there's nothing between them anymore. But I get upset when I hear how he talks to her...exactly like he talks to me! Words like sweetie, dear, love....cut me up inside. I've only had two get-togethers with her, and they didn't go well - I ended up pissed off and upset and trying to keep it inside. I wish that it didn't bother me, but it does...this is something I just don't think I'll get used to.

I've told him how I feel and he says that it's just the way he talks to his friends that are women and that it's the only material he's got (he likes to be a comedian when the tone turns serious) He thinks that I'm just not being very mature about the situation...but should he be using "material" at all or am I being too insecure when I know in my heart that it doesn't mean anything?

He sounds like an egotistic, insensitive clod.

There's many MANY women out there (and men too, situation reversed) who would not want one single thing to do with their b/f's ex (social situation)...regardless of the 'trust factor'.....because a lot of people just don't need that in their face. Yes yes, we all have a past, we all have past relationships...but leave the past in the past and let's get on with today and the future.

And for him him to call you immature, what a jerk. You feel the way you feel, and that's not right or wrong...it's just how you feel. At least you had the grace to keep your feelings to yourself, when out around his ex. Good for you!