What I have learnt from online dating.

Philosopher

I have been doing online dating for the past five years, on a variety of different sites. After doing a bit of rather geeky analysis, I have come to the following eight conclusions about online dating from my perspective (male in early 30's):

• Suggesting to meet up in the second or third message seems to work best in terms of getting dates.

• If you are optimistic about the date going well, then it is more likely to go well and a second date is hence more likely. I suspect this will not come as a surprise to too many people.

• It is rare for a women to be upfront if they do not want a second date. Usually they will come up with some non committal reply such as "I need to check my diary". Ghosting at least in my experience is rare, in that only one women has ghosted.

• If you have spoken on the phone prior to the date, the date will typically go better than those where no phone conversation has occurred. The downside of a phone conversation is that it seems to increase the chance of flaking. Both I suspect are because the two of you have a better idea of how the date will go.

• Dating sites that attempt to match you in terms of personality, interests, etc such as OkCupid and Eharmony do not lead to better dates than sites with no fancy matching system, such as Match.com.

• Perhaps surprisingly, I have got fewer second dates when the women arrived early compared to when they arrived late. My theory here is that the more conscientious women whom arrive early are more selective when it comes to deciding whether to go on another date. This could though just be a coincidence.

• For me, if the women is more reserved, then a second date is more likely. I suspect this is probably because I am quite shy and introverted so women with a similar personality in this area will view it more favourably.