Online dating becoming obsolete?

Mjm1014

Just wondering what other peoples take is on OLD...

So I've been doing the whole OLD thing since I was a freshman in college (10 years ago)...during its infancy it was so easy to get dates, people seemed genuinely interested in getting so know each other, easy to get dates, but it seems like in the last 2-3 years I've had practically zero luck. My pictures are all up to date, and I get a TON of matches and also messages from women (they usually initiate), but after sending a message back to them I never hear back from them, and if actually do hit it off with them over these OLD sites there are always a million excuses why they can't get together for a date (work, too tired, going out of town, you name it)..I feel like people are almost collecting matches just to make themselves feel better. 9/10 times they even give me their phone numbers but even then, they never actually want to meet up which is mind boggling especially after talking for weeks-it's like they just want a texting buddy. I can't tell you how many people I've talked to for 3-4 weeks that keep making excuses, and again I must stress they are the ones they keep messaging me. Oh and I get a billion selfies from people that seem to have no intention of meeting. It's annoying.

My question is, has anyone else noticed this happening over time? What's the deal? OLD is becoming so lame in my eyes..ever since Tinder and Bumble became big it just seems like no one takes it serious and is a huge waste of time.

This is by no means a vent post, this is a legit question I have..it's like night and day compared to the past. Lol

I saw a news report a few weeks back saying that meeting people in real life has now become the most popular way to find a date and has overtaken OLD.

• Like 2

First of all, 10 years ago was not the infancy of OLD. Way back in the mid 90's anybody who was on AIM, ICG, etc... knows what "ASL" means...