Mixed Messages? Uncertainty? Overthinking? What does he want?

LadyWriter

I’ve been talking to/seeing a guy for close to eight months now. We had chatted for over a year before actually meeting (although I had asked several times). He always claimed to be too busy, and my thought was always “yeah, sure.” I had stopped responding to his messages and that’s when he finally agreed that we should set up a time to meet up. We hit it off even though we were both nervous (he admitted as much) and said he thought I’d written him off. I was on my guard the entire time because I had been told by someone who knows of him, claimed that he was only interested in sex. So every any attempt at a hug or kiss or simple legs touching each other was met with avoidance on my part. The next day I asked him what his intentions were and he said “they’re all good.” We saw each other again that same weekend and then again a couple weeks later.

Not long after that, the topic of relationships surfaced and he told me that he didn’t want the stress of a serious relationship in his life right now. I told him I understood and was disappointed and asked if he would like to be friends and hang out. He agreed that he would but then said, “I don’t think it’s going to work. I want to be more than friends. Eventually.”

Due to my past, I’ve had my guard up the entire time. I would get frustrated and tell him I didn’t think this would work and then a couple days later I would be asking if we could continue to work on getting to know each other. (I know, I know.) This happened a few more times (the back-and-forth as we’ve come to call it) and one night he said he needed a break because it had taken a toll on him and he needed to safeguard himself, as well.