Too much respect?

Jolientje

I am a successful professional and since I used to be a model, I guess I am not too bad looking either. Despite enjoying quite a lot of masculine success, I am happy living as an eternally single independent girl.

Recently, however, I started to see this guy I have known forever and really like. We used to have a fling when we were teenagers, but I left him after only a few weeks, being scared of too much commitment. Over the years, I rejected quite a few of his friends whom I liked as friends, but did not want to push it to the physical level.

It seems we both feel physical and intellectual attraction for each other. Yet, I like making a man wait before having sex, and challenged him before taking it to the next level. He quickly freaked out and thanked me for putting limits. In a very honest and open way, he then admitted he feels too much respect to have sex with me and he is not ready to get into a serious relationship. He confessed he had had hundreds of affairs with easy girls, but never made love with what he considers a lady he respects.

Since then, we talked and met a few times but he made a point we should no longer show signs of affection, as it might lead to a slippery slope. It seems he is so scared of opening up for love and real commitment, he prefers building a wall and maintain a superficial life.

It feel I am being caught at my own game; though I am extremely independent and don’t want commitment myself, the fact that I am an uncatchable (virtuous?) girl seems to put pressure on Men.

His friends don’t seem to be ready to settle either and are just having loads of casual relationships. His parents, however, want him to get married quickly, they like me and have always been supportive of me…

What do you all think?

Thanks

• Like 2

What is masculine success?