Blind Dating/Professional Complications

OatsAndHall

I am a teacher and just recently took a job in a small rural community. Being the newly single man or woman in a small town is always the hot topic and I have had several people try to set me up on blind dates with various single women from the area.

I am a little bit spooky about this as it can be difficult to navigate the political and social waters within these tiny communities. As new, non-tenured teacher, you have to be very careful about what you do and say as everyone knows everyone and people like to talk. I am concerned about dating a woman who is close friends with people in the community, not having it work out and then dealing with any dramatic fall-out from it.

A part of me is gun-shy about this as I dated a woman in a rural area for a little while, I called it off with her politely and had backlash when her and her family began running their mouths to many people in the area. It wasn't a pleasant thing to go through and my professional reputation took a hit.

Any thoughts or experiences like this?

Ah yes, life in a small town where everyone else know what you are doing, before you do...

It can be difficult to navigate within the social dynamics of a small town. People are always interested in new people, yet it can be hard to really be accepted into some social groups. Dating in a small town, it is just the risk you take. My only advice is to chose wisely.

Edited by BaileyB
  • Like 1
LookAtThisPOst
Ah yes, life in a small town where everyone else know what you are doing, before you do...

It can be difficult to navigate within the social dynamics of a small town. People are always interested in new people, yet it can be hard to really be accepted into some social groups. Dating in a small town, it is just the risk you take. My only advice is to chose wisely.

Right....or relocate.

• Like 1
  • Author
Right....or relocate.