Mixed signals - what do they mean?

4blossoms

I recently met a guy in grad school and have been confused by some mixed signals. We were in a school club this summer where I am an officer and I noticed he would show up at most of the events I was in. If I dropped out of an event, he would do the same. This happened a couple of times. A few weeks ago I mentioned that I was going to drop out of event A to attend event B. He mumbled something about maybe doing the same. A couple of weeks pass, something comes up, and I can't make it to event B. On the day of event B he emails me saying he had forgotten to contact me earlier but that he is at event B and do I want to meet up? I replied that something came up and I couldn't be there. Then I noticed he had also sent me a friend request on Facebook, so I accepted. Over a week goes by and I don't hear from him, so I write a message to say hi and ask if he's going to a big event C next month. He said he will be away for most of October but will see if he has time to go, then asks me to organize another event D that he's interested in. The next day he rsvps yes to event C. At this point I wonder if he might like me. I do find him attractive, so I replied with a longer message and asked about his interests/hobbies to try to know him better. Total silence for 4 days. Up until now he's always responded pretty quickly (a few hours to 1 day at the most). But this time he waited 4 days to respond and his message has a bunch of typos. But in the message he says his travel plans changed and he will organize another event in mid-October. So, suddenly he doesn't have to be away for most of October anymore.

He mentioned that he used to have social anxiety but has gotten past it over the years. But I don't know if he still has anxiety with dating/women. He is also not from the U.S., so I don't know if the dating is different where he's from. Sorry if my post is confusing, trying to maintain everyone's privacy.