Sexual experience--Is this an important factor for women?

aaron425

I need some advice on how to deal with my sexual inexperience. I've been dating a woman (I'll call her Susan) for just under two months; if things keep going well, sex will come up sooner or later and I'm a little nervous about it--though excited too.

We're both 28 and she's had 3 long-term relationships in the past--which probably means plenty of sexual experience. The longest relationship I've ever had was 5 months--and I didn't even have sex during it! I did date a girl in my early twenties for a short time and had sex a few times, so I'm not a virgin. Along with this is the fact that I have very little dating experience as well. I was denied a couple times in my early twenties by girls I really liked a lot and just sort of a made a subconscious decision to not bother with dating or relationships for several years--I guess I was afraid of being denied again. In any case, here I am at 28 with very little dating and sexual experience, which makes me feel very odd; it's as if I need to explain myself--what have I been doing all these years?! I've always been a very romantic person (being very passionate in all areas of my life), but was just always afraid of being hurt by exposing my more personal attributes and feelings to someone else. Anyway, I'm over that fear now.

Susan has been very understanding of my dating inexperience. I've made a few odd mistakes (I've tended to express more affection than her, which has been risky for me). But she's been wonderfully understanding of my inexperience and I think she must feel similar affection for me. I think I can assume on the basis of this that she's made the inferential link between dating inexperience and sexual inexperience. So I think that when the time comes, she'll be very patient with me.