In a 4 year relationship, but always trying to impress/ thinking about other girls?

bigdog93

I just graduated college and me and my gf have been together for over 4 years, so basically all of college. Im not the really romantic type, and we are more the going steady for a long time and we get along well and she would do probably anything for me and to make me happy. We are really similar people as far as our beliefs about virtually everything and I would say she is probably more into me than I am into her

The last year and a half or so I have caught myself doing a lot of things to impress other girls though. I try to always keep my car looking good, I started lifting, I shave every day not necessarily to impress my girlfriend but to get attention from other girls. I keep thinking about girls that I knew in college that I thought were really attractive and had crushes on, that also liked me back but nothing came of it cause I was in a relationship. and I daydream about running into these girls (who are scattered all over the country now after college) again pretty frequently. I would never cheat on my girlfriend. She is really sweet and I would never hurt her like that and Im not that kind of person..

But Idk if its normal at 22 to try to keep impress other girls or if its just my brains way of saying its bored of the relationship. This is my first real legit relationship so idk if its also maybe that I want to know what else is out there? Idk i need some help to figure this out!

Thoughts??

• Like 1

Yes. IMO you wasted your time having a GF through college when you should have been single sowing your wild oats. You were teetering on the fence just enough to not let it be cheating, but your thoughts were running wild. Now you are at a point of possible regret for not fulfilling your urges to have different experiences. I'm afraid it's gonna stick with you for awhile, and possibly continue with co-workers, leading into emotional affairs.