Am I Over-Reacting

Jane_Tee_11

First, I'm new to dating this year after about 15 years. I've been on many 'get to know you' dates with men. A couple of months ago I realized it was a lot of work and that maybe I just needed some time on my own.

Someone I've sort of known for a decade or more recently jumped through all kinds of hoops to get my phone number and call me after finding out I am now single. It was incredibly flattering. We went on a date or two and he was moving very, very fast. Telling me how happy he was, etc. He then asked me what I "thought of us" and when I hesitated he got upset and left. We eventually talked about it and sorted it out, and had several conversations around how much we both liked each other, etc.

Lately he has been waffling on making plans with me, I find myself sitting around a lot trying to figure out if we have plans, and/or feeling let down when he cancels our unconfirmed plans at the last minute. He owns a business and his evening hours are his busiest. I get that. It seems he is only interested in making last minute plans and I never know if it is going to happen.

Last night was too much for me. He contacted me about 9, asking if I wanted to get together. I said yes and asked what he was thinking, he then waffled, and then eventually said he was tired and going home instead. Within a few minutes I canceled the plans we had today. I was mad and knew I'd likely be moody today and ruin the day. He is now really miffed that I canceled our plans today. Our plans were volunteering at a soup kitchen, and it already had plenty of volunteers, so I felt comfortable canceling.

It seems there is a bit of a double standard on who is expected to be available for who, and who can cancel on who without repercussion.

Am I being too sensitive here and overreacting?

You both are clashing because you are not on the same page. You both have very different ideas on what is important so this just isn't going to work.