OLD and the first few dates

Cinnamonstix

Cinnamonstix

I'm new to OLD and am not used to talking to many guys I haven't met simultaneously for the purpose of dating. I'm a monogamous type that tends to focus on one person once I've found someone I connect with and am really attracted to. I tend to get to know someone slowly in real life but it has almost always been very obvious to me that a guy is into me and pursing me and only me.

So it's actually quite strange for me to feel the need to ask this, but do the dynamics change quite a bit for a guy when he is online, dating multiple people and "the one" may be only another click away? Does it dampen interest in one specific person so that things develop much more slowly? As a woman who likes to be pursued, I feel I am in a reactionary position and letting the guy lead so I can gauge his interest and I don't know how quickly to write a guy off that doesn't ask me out every week.

I'm wondering if people handle their expectations differently based on this knowledge of the dynamics of OLD and be more patient (ie. see multiple people as well) or if the fact that I am even asking means that I have doubts and should write anyone off that makes me question their interest after a couple of dates.

I know I'm overanalyzing this. Come overanalyze with me.

I can only speak for myself, but I like to date one person at a time too, and although I was seeing two women at one point, it wasn't something I enjoyed.

For the most part, you get out of dating what you put into it. It's a double edges sword, and until you find someone you click with, keep at it.

Here you have a problem.

To my mind "dating" requires multiple dates with the same person...

Fact is with on line dating that 99.9% of dates you go on will be first dates that do not go further for what ever reason.