So ladies, how much influence does a man's job have in whether you will date him?

Meaning would a surgeon have a better shot than a school teacher? A corporate office guy more than a student in his 30's? I think you get the picture.

There's many variables.

As a nurse I would prefer to date a school teacher than a surgeon.

My criteria in a partner is education and intellectual interests rather than current 'job'. When I was on Match my preferred search was for a man who led a healthy lifestyle, was athletic and university educated. More interested in a guy who was wealthy intellectually than in salary. I met my partner...he's far from poor but most importantly is his fascinating mind.

• Like 2
  • Author
There's many variables.

As a nurse I would prefer to date a school teacher than a surgeon.

My criteria in a partner is education and intellectual interests rather than current 'job'. When I was on Match my preferred search was for a man who led a healthy lifestyle, was athletic and university educated. More interested in a guy who was wealthy intellectually than in salary. I met my partner...he's far from poor but most importantly is his fascinating mind.

If you don't mind me asking why would a nurse not want to date a surgeon?

todreaminblue

i would want to date a guy who loved what he did.....who felt driven to get up every morning with a smile on his face and continue smiling no matter how hard that job got.....that includes a guy furthering his education to go after his passion or a guy who was happy to work unplugging peoples toilets....and come home at the end of the day to my family and me.......deb...

• Like 2
If you don't mind me asking why would a nurse not want to date a surgeon?

I must have dated a dozen medical students then almost as many doctors in my younger years. One becomes saturated in 'health chit chat'. To be honest, it gets tedious. My boyfriend is a geologist and I find him much more expansive in his life experience and interests.