new boyfriend can't get to sleep at my house

Hello!

I've been seeing a guy for about a month and he has been trying to come over a few times a week to spend the night. However, he hasn't been able to sleep a full night in bed with me. At first we thought it was because his sleep schedule was messed up (staying up all night and sleeping until the afternoon), but now he seems less sure about that.

I think he might be a light sleeper, but it's hard to tell. I suggested some white noise like a fan since he said that sometimes I suddenly inhale and it's loud enough it wakes him up.

He also told me one of the first nights we slept together that I almost pushed (like shoved) him out of bed. I only remember him waking me up to ask me to move over so he wouldn't fall off the mattress. Then the last time he said that I suddenly pushed him away via the neck and he didn't know what to do.

I actually feel really guilty about this because I've never done it before and he is starting to take it personally, thinking there is a subconscious reason why I'm pushing him away. I'm wondering if it's more that I haven't had a regular bed partner in a really long time and I'm not used to having someone there.

Has anyone ever had problems with being or having pushed a partner in bed? What can you do to stop it? I used to be pretty conscious of the other person in my bed but shoving him in my sleep combined with him not being able to rest in my home is saddening.

Thanks for any thoughts.

soithascometothis

What size bed do you have?

Tangent, but you guys are sleeping together that often after a month? Were you friends before meeting?

• Author
What size bed do you have?

Tangent, but you guys are sleeping together that often after a month? Were you friends before meeting?

Yes, your question is a tangent...and totally not the point.

My bed is slightly smaller than a queen.