Teacher and Student

JF88

I'm a graduate student currently teaching a course in Freshman Composition. Going in I knew the repercussions of fraternization with students, and made sure to be friendly but also to keep strict boundaries. With all of this in place, I thought I would be immune from any attraction to my students. I was wrong.

I noticed her the first day of class. She was attractive, and that's where I left it. As the semester continued she started speaking up more in class. When I was talking with other students, she would either join the conversation, or interrupt and ask me questions about my life not pertaining to any discussion. I realize now that she wanted my attention, and she has since made this sentiment more obvious.

I knew nothing good could come of this, but then she started having medical issues and of course I felt concerned as her teacher. Concern lead to an increase in communication, which has now turned into affection. She's smart and understands difficult topics fairly easily. Her work is impeccable, and I count her among my best students. She's also an excellent conversationalist. She's told me about her family, her life, and also the trials of the medical problems she's been having. Recently, she expressed how much she likes talking to me on a personal level.

I of course have not told anyone, including this girl, about my affection, and am going through painstaking lengths to make sure it is not showing. This includes keeping body language in check, and making sure I provide fair treatment to all students in my class.