Is he just being friendly or is he interested?

MVatty

Growing up, I always have the bad luck of finding out too late that a guy I like, likes me me back. It's usually after I leave my job or leave a school, that I find out he liked me all along. The relationships I end up having are with guys that are more obvious with their interest in me. These are the guys that I usually am not initially interested in; my feelings develop only after they show how much they're into me.

Now I'm curious about what a relationship would be like with the guys that are not as direct with their interest in me. A guy from my past that I liked always seemed as if he didn't like me or something because in group projects, he would talk to the other group members but not me. It wasn't until I went out with someone else from that class, that I found out he liked me all along. In another situation, I had a crush on a long time friend, but was convinced he liked my best friend. It wasn't until I graduated from that school and found out years later from someone else that he liked me the whole time.

Now that I'm in college, I think I'm experiencing the same thing again. There's a guy in my program I find interesting (I don't know him enough to like him yet). I ran into him the other day when I went to get lunch with a friend. He's a waiter there. I actually didn't even recognize him at first until he came over and started a conversation with me about our class. He then later surprised my friend and I with desserts, on him.

Before this incident, he and I have never talked before so his friendly gesture is sort of confusing to me. I caught him looking at me in class once or twice before, so I think he's interested.. But then again maybe I'm overthinking it. What do you guys think?

Are you not used to people being nice to you?

He may not like you just yet, but he may want to feel you out and get to know you better. So, he could petentially like you.