How to get myself out of this date?

bolase

I met this guy on Tinder and we've been chatting everyday for a month on Facebook. We were strangers before this.

While the same age (30) we are different; I'm a nerdy scientist who likes to play sports, he is a musician who parties a lot and is pretty lax on the exercise front..not in the best shape etc..but we love talking. He is not conventionally attractive but that's not important to me. However he told me he was on the short side, so I half-jokingly told him he'd better fess up if I'd look down on him from 5'5 (which is important to me), he said he thinks he's 5'7.

This week we agreed to meet this week. He then started to get very, very insecure. I suggested coffee and he got annoyed as he had implied dinner earlier. I just replied that coffee was more relaxed for a first meeting.

He then suggested a dinner place where his friends all work and asked if I am certain that I want to go to dinner with a (long list of derogatory terms about himself). He then posted a photo of himself where I am fairly certain he would be much shorter than I am..no other photos on his fb show this.

Kind of put off by this insecurity and the fact I think he has lied about height, because you should not lie about that.

Just now he messaged me saying coffee was okay too, whatever I wanted. But now I don't want to go... just feels wrong. How do I communicate this? Do I just go to coffee?

Edited by bolase
But now I don't want to go... just feels wrong. How do I communicate this? Do I just go to coffee?

How do you think you would handle it if the worst became true, he was difficult and you didn't find him attractive?

• Like 1
  • Author
How do you think you would handle it if the worst became true, he was difficult and you didn't find him attractive?