30, Single and feel broken

NecyKortin

I'm 30 years old, never have been married and have been pretty hopelessly single most of my life. I'm a Law Enforcement Officer, and have been for the last seven years, I promoted through my job pretty quickly and am now a supervisor, I used to think having a stable career and ambition within that career was a good quality to have, but anymore I'm not sure what I think anymore.

Everyone I graduated Highschool with have families of their own, or are engaged in very serious relationships, at my recent Highschool reunion I felt like the odd person out due to being alone, I went into the military right after Highschool and then started my current career afterwards.

Any attempt I have made at conversation or potentially kindling any type of relationship has resulted in rejection, my sense of self-worth in the past month has become non existent, for the last 36 days I've worked without a day off working 12-16 hour shifts simply because I feel I have nothing to go home to.

The frequency of my rejection and how I never can establish a relationship or communication with a woman have become a joke at work, I'm at the point that not only do I not know what to do relationship wise but I'm terrified to even attempt to talk to a woman due to how often I'm told not interested.

I'm at the end of my rope and feel like something is wrong with me, I'm told "You're a sweet guy" and "You'll find someone" but I never seem to be able to gain anyones interest in me, the only thing that really keeps me going anymore is going to work, my job is my only real identity anymore because it's the only thing I know to do, socially I feel broken and defective.

You sound like the perpetual "Nice guy".