What makes a girl boring, and what makes her interesting?

thecrucible

thecrucible

Went on a date with someone from okcupid today. We went to a café and talked before walking around a museum. Conversation seemed slightly strained. I'm not sure if he was interested in anything I was saying although he did ask me a few questions...just seemed like a really awkward date.

I worry that I was too boring on the date - I didn't feel comfortable.

He's a PhD student. He was getting very intellectual and describing his thesis. Although I've studied some philosophy, I didn't quite understand everything he was saying and told him that...then later he started describing basic philosophical concepts to me which I already know as if I'm dumb (I'm not. I have a degree from a top 5 British university). So he assumes I'm not intellectual simply because I haven't studied philosophy in depth...

Then later on in the date, I elaborate about elements of my degree subject and postgraduate I'm working on that I find fascinating and he doesn't say much in reply except "that's interesting..." etc.

I'm usually a good conversationalist with most people...but this date makes me think otherwise...that maybe I was too boring for him.

He didn't even bother to put a nice shirt on. I don't understand why someone would turn up to a date and not make an effort. I wasn't dressed to the nines, but I did my makeup and wore nice clothing. I tried to engage with him but nothing took off...felt like we both knew about 20 mins in to our 2 hour date that nothing was going to happen there...

So a question to guys - what makes a woman fascinating? What makes her boring? What makes you want to know more? Have you been in similar situations where you can tell pretty quickly into the date that you don't feel a connection?

P. S. I 'm sorry if my questions sound naive - pretty new to the online dating scene.