I'm a catfish. should I confess?

roberts56

Hi

i know u r all going to have a go and i deserve it.

long story short i've been speaking to a girl for about 9 months. ive used real pictures, spoke on the phone. we get along so well and my personality is what she knows, as are my looks .

but some parts of my life i havn't told her about (its not like i'm married or anything like that). basically health problems.

so im just not the man she thinks i am.

now she has really fallen for me and i for her. so i dont want to hurt her. i don't want to take away the dream she has of me that she holds onto so much.

it's not that i'm scared to tell her for me, even if it means she cuts me off, it's that i don't want to ruin in her eyes what we had the last 9 months. i know ive helped her thu a lot and boosted her confidence etc so i dont want her to lose the gains shes made because she thinks the person helping her hasnt been quite real.

so i dont know whether to confess it all or just carry on. its not as if we are going to meet in person anyway.

any advice would be great

thankx

Robert:

What you are describing isn't catfishing. You are withholding personal health information. She does need to know that so she can know the entire you. The sooner you tell her the better, and yes, you need to tell her soon. Make sure you like her, and are not just into being her white knight. If you feel like you can't share parts of yourself that isn't perfect, then you may be trying to save her, not have a relationship with her.

Best,

Grumps

• Like 1
  • Author

thanks for the reply grumpybutfun

it's not just that i want to be a white knight, i really do like her too. but im so concerned with damaging her from revealing it.

if i tell her do u think i just tell her the basic detail or go all out and tell her and explain how i hope it doesnt change things with us?

melodymatters