dating a much younger girl

jmurray

I'm a professional male that's 41 years old. I'm not the best looking guy so I don't have my pick of woman. I have struck up a friendship with an 18 year old girl and she seems to be interested in going out with me. Maybe not seriously but somewhat more of a casual relationship. I think she likes the fact I have my act together and can treat her well. She probably is not used to that in comparison to younger guys she has dated.

Anyway, what does everyone feel about a 41 year old guy hanging out and most probably having sex with an 18 year old girl. I'm conflicted about it myself. I don't get many opportunities to have fun and enjoy myself. Should I deprive myself because she might be too young. Or should I just have fun if she's willing?

• Author
You couldn't find someone who was at least half your age? Though seriously, what would you guys even talk about? I don't think I'd do that one man. Let's aim for someone who wasn't born in the mid 90s, eh?

She likes my sense of humor and I make her laugh. I act silly and she likes it so not having stuff to talk about is not the issue. I'm more concerned about am I being a creep in some way because I'm not older than her. I don't think so because it's not like I'm taking advantage of her in any way. But I would like to hear opinions.

happywithlife

If you decided to pursue something, I would do so with extreme caution for several reasons:

1. You are more likely looking for some fun and nothing too serious (like marriage and kids). She may say the same at first, but she's young, easily influenced, and likely to start fantasizing about marriage, kids, etc at some point. She will likely get a lot more attached than you. If you proceed, continue to verbalize that you are looking for short-term fun.