What if you have great chemistry with someone but she isn't ready for a relationship

I had been friends with this girl for a while, it seemed obvious that we had good chemistry, but because I was getting over a breakup and she was in a long distance relationship, we did nothing about it. Well a few weeks after she broke up with her boyfriend, she confessed her feelings to me and I admitted I felt the same about her. We decided to start dating and the chemistry was even better than I had suspected. A few weeks into dating, though, she broke up with me, saying it was too much, too fast and that she wasn't ready for a relationship. She said would just want something serious with me if we continued and after spending so much time and effort on relationships that didn't work out in the past, she needed to spend time on herself.

While I understand where she is coming from, I can't help but feel disappointed. I have had a lot of experience dating (I am now 34 years old after all), and this is something I have never had with someone before. While we were friends, then while we were dating, and even now when we have broken up, we get along so well together, and when we have disagreements we can't stay mad each other for long at all. Besides, she is very attractive, intelligent, and fun to be around. So finding someone so great, who says she really likes me, and not being able to be with her is really difficult. I don't think I have any choice but to move on, but how do I do that? And how do I keep the door open to possibly trying again should she decide she is ready?

chelle21689

I was in a relationship with someone for 5 1/2 years and I really loved him. I met someone a month later that I was really interested in but definitely wasn't interested in a relationship although he was. We kept things casual and took things really slow and he didn't mind. 5 months later, I feel ready to be in a relationship lol...I'm just so nervous to bring it up to him.

HeartOnSleeve