Always a bridesmaid...

Scarlett513

I'm just getting started on the fourth wedding I'll have been in in the past three years and already I resent it (which of course makes me feel like an awful human being).

The weddings I have been in have been for my four best friends, leaving me as the "last" single one. I have a new boyfriend but I can't help feeling left behind and left out. I know it's not about me, but I just can't help but feel like a failure. I've been through a lot and I'm jealous that it seems like it was so easy for them!

More than that, though, I'm tired if spending my money on everyone else's happily ever afters. I know I could technically say no but it's really hard to refuse your best friend. Plus, I honestly happy for them and honored to have been asked. I'm just sick of being the workhorse for the bride, and never being able to afford anything for myself bc I'm always pouring my rather small paycheck into their big day.

I know I sound bitter and I guess I am a little. I feel awful for not being a more enthusiastic bridesmaid, but I'm sick of my money, time, and energy being swallowed up by these things. I want my life back.... I can't afford to replace my own toaster bc I have to buy one as a wedding gift, i can't buy a dress I like bc I just blew $200 on a bridesmaid's dress I hate, and the list goes on. I'm tired of arguing with domineering maids of honor who want to spend $500 a person on the shower.

When does it end????

Kinder-Horror

I'm with ya. I have only been in one wedding and that was a nightmare - and costly - so I totally get where you are coming from on being sick of the whole shabang.