Living with parents but dating, do you think that hurts a person in a way?

Labster12

I am a first year college student. Of course you would expect a college student to be living in a dorm and all of that stuff but lets just say the economy has made it tougher for people to get scholarships and other aid to pay for college.

While I did graduate high school with a decent GPA (3.4 with all honors courses) and a good SAT score (1980 overall). I was still not able to qualify for most scholarships because my GPA was not the highest and I hadn't done too much volunteer work. As a result I was given the option by my parents to either stay in the same town for two more years and then transfer to a bigger university or go to the university I was accepted into, take out a loan and get myself in debt.

So I took the commute route, I will be spending two years at a local university and doing my final two years elsewhere, hopefully in a much bigger state than Arkansas (nothing much to do here).

Anyways my friends have experienced the same thing. It is like not the same feeling you would get when you are living on your own and dating a girl. When you are living with family (my friends commute to college as well) and dating, it feels that you are independent since you are in college but that you are not fully independent because hey, you are still living with mommy and daddy.

I want your views.

I refused to date until I was technically leaving on my own. I rented an apartment in one of my mother's building and then only then did I start dating.I was 18 when I did that , and still didn't allow dates over. I now live on my own and able to date more freely.