Did I drop the ball or was it inevitable ?

mixwell

The ex I've been hanging out with (together for 7 years, ended 2004 and hadn't talked to since last year) had a boyfriend who became "out of touch" for life which she didn't consider him a boyfriend but would refer to him as one so I didn't approach her but only today in talking to her she says something referencing "my next b/f and mentions not being with the current guy but I found out she is seeing someone and has been for the last few weeks which leaves me feeling like I should have told her how I felt.

I find myself questioning if I just would have said something earlier maybe we'd be seeing each other again but I think I gave her clear signs and if she did have interest she would make it clear she didn't have a boyfriend and possibly throwing signs of interest so I try not to blame myself but it was kinda like a bombshell hearing her say "im seeing someone" knowing she was single and I didn't do anything but again I think she just doesn't see me that way anymore because her actions didn't really speak that she was interested (and I'm not completely dumb on reading signals)..

So I just want to stop beating myself up thinking I may have done something or said something for us to be together BUT if she was really interested in me I believe she wouldn't start seeing someone else ? I keep saying to myself "if i just said how I felt or did this or that it may have been different" It's to late to go back and wish I said/did it so I'm over it but would that have changed anything ?