How do I handle the push/pull game?

Lovesick09

We aren't dating as yet. But already I'm falling. :love:

Previous boyfriends either chased me full on or became friends first. I have had very long relationships and not much dating experience. So I have no experience with this game. Hence my naivety .

While the pull is making me want him (I wanted him before he started this game) the push is making me feel very insecure, so any compliments or nice things he does for me, I think is this sincere or just a game? I hate the fact that he controls the flow of our interaction.

I'm wondering does this stupid game stop once the guy gets you? It seems to be picking up pace. Can he possibly be falling for me or do guys only use push pull for sex and casual relationships? I just feel distressed at the moment. I'm not into games and it's just doing my head in. :(

SoulSearch_CO

Could you be more descriptive? What kinds of things is he doing that push you away? It's quite possible he's just afraid of getting hurt. Might be something to discuss with him.

As much as I hate to admit it...I am a push/pull guy. In my case...and this applies to me and maybe not him at all: it has to do with some deep seated insecurities from my childhood.

For me there is this fear that any woman that loves me will leave...even though I deeply crave love. So as get it...I get scared and push the woman away.

I know it is not attractive. In my experience it does tend to die down once the relationship is stable, but there are things that seem to to trigger my pushing instinct.

The bad thing is...the more potential for love I feel..the harder I push.

• Like 1

That's a concern, the biggest concern here in fact.

I'm wondering does this stupid game stop once the guy gets you?
No.

Further more, what you'll end up being attracted to is the game, not him.

I hate the fact that he controls the flow of our interaction.