The "N" Word and Racism: How to respond?

Israfil

I need advice on how to deal with blatant racism, in a potential friendship in the workplace.

I live in a city where racism is the norm. However, I am not used to dealing with it in such an overt way. I was really speechless, and didn’t know what to do or say.

Here is the story:

A colleague / potential friend was giving me a ride home. I am fairly new at my job, and have just sort of begun to make friends in the workplace. During the ride home, there was of course the usual bad traffic, and my work associate made a comment equivalent to, “These fu(king N1ggers, look at how they drive” etc. etc., and proceeded to blame all traffic problems on blacks. This is not the first overt racist comment she has made to me.

Frankly, I just don’t know how to deal with it. What should I have said?

What I would have liked to say, in an ideal world would have been something like:

“Just because I am not black, doesn’t mean that your racism doesn’t affect me just as much as it does those who you choose to belittle. While bigoted mindsets like yours exist, none of us are truly free.”

Instead, I said nothing. I feel like a coward. :(

How should I deal with this in the future?

I have been in your shoes......

At work and among "friends" even black friends that use the N word.

Simply state that the word makes you feel uncomfortable and when you are present you do not wish to hear it.

You will not solve this persons problem by getting into a pissing match about this.

a4a

AlmostMarried77

Do you really need to be friends with them?

anyway - i just don't respond, I used to occasionally counter their point of view but gave up, it can be a loosing battle. If someone starts up a conversation like that or makes those comments I just start talking about something completely unrelated.