LoveShack.org Community Forums

Reload this Page LoveShack.org Community Forums > Platonic > Friendship

What's a good way to branch out and become more social?

Friendship Having issues with a friend? Get it off your chest!

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th September 2017, 2:23 PM   #1

What's a good way to branch out and become more social?

I am a 19 year old student in uni and I need advice on becoming more social. Normally, I'm pretty quiet and introverted and not that outgoing tbh. So far, I have like 3 friends at Uni and they are part of a larger social group which I am not, and they tend to hang out and do things together. I don't want to spend my time alone or aloof, but maybe I guess I feel somewhat intimidated by the fact that they have their own group and I don't. I want to be more social but I don't want to force myself or shoehorn myself into a group they already have. So what's the best way to become more social.
NightRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 4:17 PM   #2
Established Member

There should be a student services at your uni or college who organise social things, such as movies, days out or weekends away. It is a good way to meet people.
Soak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2017, 10:43 AM   #3

should I leave those 3 mentioned friend behind?
Old 24th September 2017, 10:07 PM   #4
Established Member

Contact your college student services or whatever they call it, Student Union. Go talk to them about volunteer opportunities around campus. You'll likely end up working with a group of other people part of the time and get to know them and they may have you helping with things around events. Keep an eye on the job postings around the University. Sometimes they have ones that are only once in awhile that most people could make time for. For example when I was in college I worked some of the ball games in the concession areas.