Reconnecting with close old friend confusion!

shan1

I'm looking for advice, tips, maybe someone who been through similiar experiences?

I know this may be fairly long, but I could really use some advice here, i'm new to this!

HISTORY OF THE FRIENDSHIP:

There was a friend I was very close to in junior high school(a rare friendship) one of those friendships that had a huge impact/imprint on my life, our personalities were alot alike in ways, and in her differences she helped me to grow. She helped me big time when I was going through hard times at home, she made great effort for me, she made me happy, she was loyal and strong and always wanted to be with me. She made alot more effort for me, then I did for her, it's something I truly regret. Alot happened, I learned I had to move away from the area, and that meant her, and we didn't stay in touch. I went into a depression and pushed everyone away, at the time I felt it was best to protect myself from having to say goodbye and all the hurt along with it, but that was a mistake, I was the one who disconnected and didn't give her any contact information or any initiative to stay in touch.

RECENTLY:

I recently got in touch with her after 10 years (now that I am older) I added her on facebook (I didn't have facebook throughout most of my life until recently) my life has been up and down and now that I am older and wiser and understand alot of my feelings and am begining to have regrets, and feel lonely (whereas once I didn't feel like I needed anyone due to depression) and began missing her big time! and thinking about her alot

I started the conversation on facebook, I didn't know what to expect. We began talking very casually, I started with "hey it's been a really long time! how are you?" and it went from there.