I'm Struggling to Make New Female Friends

nescafe1982

Hi everyone,

After a coast-to-coast move to California last October, I have been settling in and trying to make some new friends locally. I don't have a 9-to-5 job (I'm a writer), so I'm basically lack any ready-made setting to be social. Having friends to spend time with is very important to me, so I'm up to the challenge of getting to know folks here in all kinds of ways: Meetups, Church, volunteering, etc. I'm making slower progress than I hoped for, though, and I keep running into a problem.

I am having a hard time getting to know any women, in particular.

I'm female, 31, in a long-term relationship. I like hanging out with the guys (and it's pretty easy to make friends with men), but I struggle to meet and get to know women among my peers. I'm starting to wonder if I'm doing something wrong.

Last night, for instance, I went out with a running group (mixed group, although women outnumbered men); afterwards, we went out to dinner. It was a pretty nice time overall, but I frequently felt like the women in my immediate seating area all wanted to be somewhere else: they talked among one another, resisted my "get to know you" questions, and were generally sort of "closed" towards me (like shifty-eyes, body language turned away, passive stuff like that which seemed to communicate they didn't want to interact). After a half hour of trying to break the ice, I chatted with one of the guys there (who was much friendlier and more receptive to me) and politely took my leave.