How do you deal with friends who disrespect you?

Background: I grew up in a very dysfunctional home. I basically raised myself. It has taken me years to learn how I should be treated and I'm still learning everyday. Growing up and in my early 20's, I had a lot of bad friends. "Bad" friends being people that are not real friends, people that use other people, people that put others down, people that have bad motives, etc. As I got older, I realized that even if it meant being alone, to not accept those types of people because they weren't worth the effort and it caused too much stress.

Fast forward...I have met a lot of great people and have had some really good friendships thanks to picking better and getting rid of bad people. However, some of friends still continue to have certain flaws or issues and I'm questioning how to handle them...when to know I should cut bait or not.

I have had a friend, let's call him John, who has tried to push advice on me over the last year that is not good for me and almost sabotaging. I am now starting to question our friendship. I have known him for 5 years and during that time he was a pretty good friend in a lot of ways. I've noticed he has some jealousy and anger issues. He is married and our friendship has always been strictly platonic, I have never seen any inkling in him to want to cheat and he loves his wife.