Best Friend is NOT paying rent

RhapsodyinBlue

RhapsodyinBlue

So my best friend from DC told me he had gotten into a fashion school here in LA called FIDM. Since he told me he'd be taking out a loan and he'd have some left over money to take care of expenses, I told him he could stay with me.

Needless to say, my friend got here September 1st and all of a sudden his plans changed. I have a one bedroom and he stays in the living room.

I am having a hard time paying rent and just lost my part-time job and I am a student myself. It's December 17th and he still has NO job. I had a long talk with him a month ago and told him I didn't feel like he was trying hard enough. He won't admit it, but he is picky about where he wants to work. He is a photographer but doesn't even advertise his services???

I'm getting FED up. He could've been working at McDonalds or somewhere to bring in some extra cash. He has NO social life and is always in the apartment.

His stay has gone longer than expected and I am on the verge of telling him that I think this roommate situation is not working out. I'm a pretty private person and I've given up my personal space so that he can get on his feet. But I'm not getting anything in return.

I feel like he'd rather sit on his ass and not work at particular jobs while I struggle to pay the bills. Needless to say, if rent doesn't get paid then guess what? Both of our asses are out of here. I sort of feel responsible for the both of us which is causing me a lot of depression. I have other issues going on and I just finished finals. So I am literally wiped out.

I thought our first talk would get through his head, but he's waiting on this imaginary dream job to come through. He needs to know he has to pay his dues like everyone else.

What do you guys think? Do you think enough is enough?