friends that make plans they 'cant afford'

alice595

i have had a friendship like this once before, me and that person no longer speak.

basically, i am a student and work ridiculous hours in rubbish jobs alongside my studies just so i can afford to pay my bills. i am really careful with money because i have to be.

anyway i have this friend who is in full time employment. when we are out she asks me to buy her drinks and general things like that. however the most recent time has really annoyed me.

she called me up at the weekend asking if i wanted to go out for the day. so i said yes. we're halfway there (im driving) and she turns to me and says she has no money, would i mind paying today. i was kind of pissed off but she was like oh ill pay you back monday blah blah. in the interest of not creating a really awkward situation i just bit my tongue and said fine.

so i ended up funding this day out, meal, drinks etc. its tuesday, and suprise suprise ive not heard a peep outta her.

she told me a few weeks ago she has 10k inheritance in a savings account she doesnt want to touch....i have about $200 in my account to last me til the middle of october, thats all the money i have to my name. i have bills she doesnt have because she still lives with her parents.

i guess im just angry that she made plans knowing full well she couldnt afford to do them and just expected me to say yes to lending money. im not tight but i LOATHE lending money to friends. people always seem to lean on me for these kind of 'favors' but i never do it to them. and they never, ever rush to pay me back, if they ever do.

i suppose im just ranting really lol. im just so fed up of being this person put in this position by other people. its like im the only one with a conscience sometimes.

Say "no". Louder.

They are taking advantage of you. Say no and you'll lose a few fake friends in the process that you don't need anyway.