20-year friendship going out the window

About a month ago a conflict came up with the woman I have called my best friend. She brought up a financial issue of mine (equity I got out of a family house) in a group conversation. I felt this was inappropriate and insensitive, and asked that it not be discussed. She dropped it, but in that moment something inside me said "Get out of this. Absolutely do not give her this access to your affairs again. Ever." She had facilitated the deal, and she seemed to believe that this gave her license to discuss it. From my perspective, her move was unprofessional and indiscreet, and really made me question her judgment.

We didn't speak for over two weeks, during which I was moving my mother into assisted living. I've been managing her well-being singlehandedly for the last six months, and my life has been stressful and exhausting.

There is more background on the situation here: http://www.loveshack.org/forums/t122511/. In any case, when I eventually did have a conversation with my friend she attacked me for "biting her head off." She made no attempt to understand my perspective. There have been other times in the past when she believes I have "lashed out" at her. In all honesty, I'd say 4 times in 7 years. While our friendship has been long and meaningful, during stressful periods she has an uncanny way of pressing my buttons. No other relationship in my life functions this way. I have worked very hard on my ability to manage intense emotions in stressful situations, and while my reactions have become smaller, her anger each time has gotten bigger. In the beginning of this cycle, it seemed manageable and proportionate to the situation. Not now.