Happy New Year-You're unemployed!

unemployed2006

I just want to know what anyone thinks of this because I think this is pretty rotten and am fuming. This is a long story unfortunately....

I am a law student who started out this past summer working for an attorney for free because I wanted experience more than anything in a firm. After I did this a couple months I realized my husband could not handle all the financial burden alone and I needed a paying job. (we have 3 kids to support). (Keep in mind I quit a paying job which I hated anyway to go work for this woman.) She told me if things worked out she would hire me permanent.

Once I realized how strapped for cash we were I looked around for a new job and got hired by another attorney on the spot. I felt bad for not asking her first if she wanted to start paying me but I in no way wanted her to feel obligated to me bc I figured she can always find another law student. Anyway when I told her I would have to leave, I got and needed a paying job, she went a bit nuts and practically begged me to stay offering me the same money as did the other atty, and also said I am offering you a future. I want you to stay here after you graduate. The promise of a future was the deciding factor and I told the other guy I was extremely sorry but I was going to stay with her because the prospect of a future after graduation was too much and I could not give that up.

Fast forward to yesterday (approx 2 months later). I have been sick a lot lately with kidney problems but I always managed to haul myself into work no matter what practically. Wednesday I was in the operating room having a kidney stone blasted and woke up the next day feeling like a pile of ****. Nevertheless as I had so many times before, sick, hauled myself into work. I notice a lot of junk like old books and computers that had been stored in my office were gone! Im like oh good they finally got rid of all this junk!