I am overwhelmed and depressed at work

I work as an Office Assistant in facilities management and basically look after the Operations and Maintenance of 25 very large and busy buildings. I am being snowed under by backlog and weeks of invoices, contracts, Purchase orders and Cheque Requests. I am very depressed at work, have only one other Facilities Manager in the office, and only then very occasionnally, he is always on the road, and right now is on leave for 2 weeks so i am by myself. I am getting paid very well, have fantastic corporate health benefits, and great job security, but i am getting very stressed out.

This happened at my last job too, and I quit because it got too much. I dont think reception is for me, even though i am trained i dont seem to be handling it well.

If "Office Assistant" is your acutal job title...then they sure ARE overwhelming you with work!

Don't quit. Then you'll be stuck without a job! Especially if you have good pay & benefits.

curiousnycgirl

You need to speak with your supervisor about the fact that you feel completely overloaded. Any good manager will figure out a solution.

• Author

There are about 8 other offices nationally that have 1 Facilities Manager and 1 Office assistant each. They all seem to be going OK. They are very pedantic with processes, and it makes things harder than they have to be. Everything has to be checked and approved like 4 times before it is completed, its like working for the government.

What should i say to my manager? I am still relatively new, only been here for just over 3 months, so he is still carrying some of my workload. If is talk to him while he is on leave he will come back, and i dont want to do that, he's in holidays in New Zealan at the moment, so dont want him to come back just because im stressing out. But i will t5alk to him when he comes back, but what should i say?

I also agree w/everybody here...talk to your supervisor/mgr about how things are too much.