SixthSt.Girl

I applied for a retail management job a few months ago. I thought I'd never hear back from them because I went to an open interview thinking there would be full-time - she asked me if part-time was ok, but I said it just depends on how many hours it is and/or if I could do a second job along with it. I got an impression that there was just a part-time associate job that's available, but I found out at this last interview that there is a pt associate manager's job. There is also a good chance for advancement, since one of the managers is leaving.

I've been re-considering doing retail lately. I thought it was what I wanted to do, but it's so sales oriented nowadays, and I'm not really a people person. That is why I'm worried about my reference from my current job. I am dependable and trustworthy - my boss has told me that, but I've heard that he also said he wishes I was more aggresive (I work in sales). But, I thought if I got this job, I'd get some money to go back to school to do what I really think I'd like - paralegal/legal assisting. I took career tests, which all said I was a great match for that line of work. I haven't been applying for retail at all lately - it was a strange coincidence that this came up when I had just about given up. She said there is a really good chance that I would get it, as there are only a couple other people she knows of (and two pt manager positions). Usually, if I get a second interview, I get the job - she even said that they're only calling back people they really like, and that I did great at both interviews. She said basically if my references check out, they should be calling me Friday. Well, I haven't heard anything yet, and I'm starting to get nervous. I know that they liked me a lot, and the only thing I'm thinking of is bad references. My past employers should be ok, but my current boss is kind of fickle. I was hoping they'd talk to the manager who knows about all of this and would give me a good reference.