Does my manager want me out?

Hi all,

I'm going to keep this short & conscise.

I've been at my company for two years now. I have a postgraduate degree and two bachelor degrees from two top universities. I speak 4 languages (which is partially why I was recruited in my current job). My previous jobs consisted of corporate finance-related analysis for consultancy companies.

Two years ago, I joined another financial institution where I work a job that only requires a Bachelor degree and no work experience prior. I've received good feedback from senior management multiple times throughout these two years (which I was told was rarely seen). The senior manager sits abroad and I work for their team. I have a line manager locally who is in middle-management. The middle-manager is not the one who hired me, she became manager a few months ago.

I thought I would get promoted this year, after my positive reviews and my commitment. I did not.

About two weeks ago, my local manager told me she doesn't see me in the long run in this job as I would get "bored". She said I can be extremely successful and have a leader mindset, but thence shall start looking at my options inside the institution. Consequently, she said she'd like me to think about the following two options:

- Look for another position internally in line with my true credentials.

- Request a transfer to possibly the office where the manager I work for is located.

She said I need to think about it seriously as this is going to affect my targets for the year, since those targets will be significantly different.