Single mother at annual review

I am a single mother an attorney with a long commute. My son is four. I am up for a review in a few months and struggling with one aspect of it.

My production has been low for two years. The rest of my job performance has been very high-- my oral argument, my legal research, the quality of my briefs, my writing, and how I deal with clients. And I've had extremely positive compliments from supreme court justices, but I don't know that they communicated that directly to my boss, just to me and a family member who is also a lawyer.

I have also not been very involved in extracurricular office events-- some, but less than most the other attorneys.

I know that my boss is evaluated mostly for our office's production and I feel for that reason, it's a bigger factor than it's said to be in our employee handbook.

I am the only single mother there out of some 50 lawyers.

Production is not the only formal measure of performance but it's a major one. I find it hard to sacrifice quality for quantity but also, being a new, single mom with (for a while) a bitter divorce and unexpected custody battle and then later, an unworkable co-parenting situation, those things cut into my production. Even though I put in a lot of hours, I was frazzled, sleep-deprived and all that. And again I kept my quality of work high which took more time.

But lately several of those things that have cut into my production are getting better. The coparenting situation. Childcare/school. And I have more support now.

My question is, how bad an idea is it generally to mention my single-parenting status to management? As in, this is something that definitely effected production for the last couple years and is definitely improving. I'd like them to have the information but something tells me it might be improper to bring it up. And they know I'm a single parent, but not a lot more.