Not sure what the next step is in my career

MajesticUnicorn

Hey all, I was hoping to get some advice from some of you more seasoned professionals. I know this is more geared towards relationships at work, but I figured this was a good a place as any to get some opinions on how to proceed with my professional career.

I graduated from college a year ago with a degree in marketing/communications, minor in graphic design. I interned at this ad agency throughout college and accepted a full time job as a graphic designer there when I graduated. While this wasn't my major, I have found that it is what I am truly passionate about. I love the company I work for, I love the people, I love what I get to do everyday, but I don't love the location.

I am still living in the same college town where I was born and have spent the past 22 years. Don't get me wrong, it's a great place, but I have been itching to get out since I graduated high school. Now as I am trying to develop a friend group of young professionals and trying to date, I'm realizing how hard it is to find that in a place that is heavily dominated by college students. I know it IS possible, it's just hard when I see all of my old friends and former classmates living it up in big cities with like minded individuals.

My original goal was to move after spending a year working full time with this agency, I would start to look for a new job in a different location. Well, my immediate higher-up is going on maternity leave so I committed to staying at least till the end of August. I will take over a lot of her work while she is gone

We have an incentive trip planned for January, which is essentially where you will set goals for yourself for the year, if you meet them, you get to go on this awesome trip free of charge. Well, I met with two of my bosses to discuss the trip (since they don't know how long I'm staying) as well as setting goals.