Refusing to Provide School Transcripts for Job?

Have any of you managed to avoid providing school transcripts for a job that asked for them? I'm being recruited for a new job. They contacted me. It's a senior position and I'm several years out of school with ample work experience in the industry.

According to the partner I've spoken with, I'm a shoe-in for this job but I still need to go through the formalities - send resume, meet with management...and provide my fkn school transcripts. :o

I've spent the last near decade since I graduated building a pretty impressive skill set and resume. I worked my way up to being a top exec at my current company. But my gpa is an embarrassment, tbh. Even if I got this job, I wouldn't want to start out with my superiors knowing what it was.

So...any advice on how to get around it or politely refuse to submit it?

Check if your school's registrar office provides a one page degree verification document that officially confirms the alum's exact degree and completion date, without every course detailed.

• Like 3
  • Author

Hey, thanks a lot for your suggestion. I'm not sure if that'll be enough if they specifically ask to see my grades...

get the transcript and send it. Its a formality.

How transparent you are in applying says alot about your upper executive skills in a career. Unless its in politics for which then you are golden for conveniently evading the request.

Put aside your concerns and let them decide.

• Like 1

I'd think that refusing to comply with their requirements would be the one tiny thing that might disqualify you for the position. On the one hand, showing that you've come a long way since college can be a really good thing. It shows you're a hard worker, self-aware, and willing to improve yourself- those are strong qualities.

I feel like employers ask for transcripts just to verify that you completed your degree...I don't think they generally care so much about your GPA.

• Like 2