Horrible Anxiety about New Job

I'm a 25 year old grad student and I just got hired at a burger place for the summer. Tomorrow is my first day and I'm having horrible anxiety.

I've worked many fast food jobs and either got fired or quit because they're just all around awful environments to work in imo. And all of the standing took a toll on my knees. Now I have to wear a new brace when I work out or if I'm going to be standing for a long time.

During the school year for the past 2 years, I've worked as a TA teaching my own class of college freshmen. It's a very flexible job that I enjoy, but it pays crap and I can't teach in the summer.

I don't have a car so my options are very limited. In my head, I know I probably need this job, or A job, but I'm so stressed about it. I've always had social anxiety, but If I go out every once in awhile, it's not too bad. But this past semester, I've spent a lot of time in my apartment alone.

It sounds crazy, but it feels like I've forgotten how to be a social person, the right moments to nod and smile and shake hands. Like a delayed reaction. I went out to a farewell dinner with friends I hadn't seen in a couple of weeks and I was like a zombie. I didn't really talk at all. I just didn't have the willpower to act normal and have conversations because I'm so used to being alone with my dog (which I honestly enjoy most of the time. I don't like big groups).

Now I feel like this is going to either get me fired because I'll be acting weird at work or I'll just have some type of mental freakout every night before work or eventually quit. Any advice on how I can keep this job and not fall apart because of the anxiety?

• Like 1

Just remember that "it is only burgers...."

Seriously - a burger job isn't something you should have that much anxiety over.

• Like 1
  • Author

Seriously - a burger job isn't something you should have that much anxiety over.